crochet

Another finished scarf and a shopping trip!


Yay – I’ve finished my second scarf šŸ™‚ This one is the one I was doing for my Mum – and I did it with a 7.0mm hook instead of a 6.0mm for the body of the work. Bizarrely though, it’s ended up no wider, and actually shorter than the first one! Don’t know what I was doing with the chains because both had 203! Such are the joys of being a beginner I guess!

I do think this one has come out much nicer though – the rows in the centre are more defined, and I did a better job of the edging too. Have loads of yarn left though – more than I did last time – so definitely have enough to make another one again if I dare brave it šŸ™‚ (Although I’m going to have to do at least one more as my sister in law would like one in the purple.)

I’m unsure if I should block these, or give them a wash or something – to improve how it looks. The purple one has already started to curl after my wearing it the other day – it may be an issue with the yarn. The next one I do (for me), I’ll do with some of my Almerino yarn that I have – hopefully that will be easier to work with and will retain it’s shape better.

So yesterday when we popped to town, we bought some yarn for a couple of projects. Trev wants a Boy Beanie and I needed to buy some nice acrylic to make a nice jacket/hoody for a colleague of mine who has a new baby boy šŸ™‚

Unfortunately Peterborough is VERY limited in terms of LYS (although I haven’t checked out the market yet) and we had to go to John Lewis, which is no bad thing, but it’s lots of Rowan and not much else (plus I get a desperate urge to spend money when looking around the kitchen department – which IS a bad thing).

Trev just needed to find some nice acrylic for his hat, but struggled to find one colour he liked – never mind two – and kept gravitating towards the expensive Ā£6 for 50g yarn šŸ™‚ Eventually we decided to only make him one hat, and he picked out the yarn I used on his Anarchy Irony hat (Sirdar Denim Chunky in the same dark colour) – which he can only wear when it’s really cold due to how long it is.

CIMG1883~

Hunting round in the bargain basket, we found a small ball of grey yarn for Ā£1 – it’s labelled B.M.D. – any ideas? This will do quite nicely for the stripes – so now thankfully the hat will look much different to the once I’ve already done for him!

CIMG1887

Looking for my colleagues baby, there was lots of lovely baby yarns in child-friendly acrylic. I was able to grab the last 3 lots of Sirdar Snuggly DK in a lovely baby blue. I’ve seen some lovely free baby jacket patterns on Ravelry, so I need to just pull my finger out and have a go.

CIMG1882

Once I’ve got another scarf, hat and baby jacket out of the way, I’m unsure about what I want to try next! I’ve not even tried granny squares yet – so there’s so much to do – so little time! It is exciting though – not to mention fun šŸ™‚

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

