crochet

A trip in the rain


In other crochet related news, I braved the horrendous rain yesterday to go to John Lewis on Oxford Street in my lunch break. They have the best haberdashery there and I could have spent hours in there wandering around looking at all of the crafty stuff.

My main purpose in going was to buy some White Sirdar Snuggle DK to make the edging on the baby hoody – as I thought it would look better like this than with just blue. I also bought some cute little blue buttons so I now have no excuse to not finish the item off ๐Ÿ™‚ Although thinking about it now perhaps white buttons would have been a better choice as the button band will be white… oh well. Haven’t taken any pictures of the buttons but will take pics of the FO and post it here. Here’s the yarn:

CIMG2236

I also bought some press studs and a funky button to finish off my iPod cosy (the grey and pink striped one). The press studs I will put into each corner of the flap so that I can properly close it, and the button will be added into the buttonhole for decoration only. Will post some more pics when I’m finished.

I’m only able to walk to John Lewis now because I started a new job at the beginning of last week which is smack in the middle of Oxford Street. So I am now no more than 10 minutes walk away from John Lewis, Libertys (which I haven’t been to yet) and All The Fun Of The Fair – perfect! It’s ironic that I’m in no danger being near Selfridges, Debenhams or the many designer shops in the area – it’s the YARN stores that pose a threat to me ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m just glad that my hubby tolerates my love of crochet! (Plus he gets funky hats and things out of it so it’s not all a one way relationship!)

There’s still so many things I want to make! It’s wonderful but also frustrating as there’s so many barriers – time, my skills… Oh well – I must crack on and finish this hoody before I think about other projects!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

