crochet · kooky

New Toys!


Sorry for the delay in putting this post up. I meant to post on Friday, but we were all excited about going to the London Guitar Show yesterday and that kind of threw me off crochet for a while. We got back very early this morning, and since leaving London last night I have developed a stinking cold which is in full flow (no pun intended) as we speak. If I feel this rotten tomorrow, I am not going to work and will be spending the whole day in bed.

Anyway, on Wednesday I had lots of new toys arrive ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t really have the time to play with them properly that night, so all my playing was done on Thursday and Friday. If you recall, I had ordered a number of lovely items from Robynn at Purlescence. So with no further ado, let’s go through my purchases!!!

CIMG2494

Soak – this is a lovely wash that you can use for handknits or any delicate item (e.g. cashmere jumpers) and it’s great because generally you don’t have to rinse anything! You can also use it for spot cleaning, although I haven’t tried it yet. I’ll be using this for blocking things, and for washing anything I’ve crocheted along with nice woolly jumpers that belong to Trev & I.

CIMG2482

Lantern Moon Ebony 14″ Size 19 (15.0mm) knitting needles
– I bought these for doing broomstick lace and unfortunately my first attempt was so hideous it has been frogged rather than photographed. I’ll take some pics next time I try it – so watch out for that in a future post. I had some issues with doing the joins between groups of loops, but I think I may have that sorted now.

These are gorgeous though – lovely and smooth and look fantastic. Have a few more piccies:

CIMG2487

CIMG2490

CIMG2492

Last and by no means least is this:

CIMG2505

My Jenkins Walnut Hairpin Lace Loom – to be used for… Hairpin Lace! I luuurve this thing – it’s so beautifully made and a joy to use. It’s fully adjustable I bought some extra prongs to go with it, and thankfully my first attempt at Hairpin Lace was MUCH more successful than my first attempt at Broomstick Lace. Oodles more pictures here:

CIMG2514

CIMG2513

CIMG2511

CIMG2510

CIMG2509

CIMG2508

CIMG2507

CIMG2499

CIMG2500

CIMG2502

So yes, loads of pictures!

I’ve also filled my basked with my stash – now I’ve been able to get the cat out of it ๐Ÿ™‚

CIMG2520

CIMG2521

However, despite this purchase from Robynn, that’s not been all the purchasing I’ve done recently! Offhand Designs have brought out their new fabrics for the Sabrina bag – something I’ve always liked – and Robynn has given us the chance to pre-order a bag in the new colours. I couldn’t decide between the New York Stripe and the Aquavite.

Eventually, I have decided to go for the Aquavite, with a matching Nina clutch to store all of my crochet bits and pieces:

May take up to 4-6 months to arrive, but it gives me plenty of time to save for it then!

And finally, I ordered another couple of patterns from Stitch Diva today – both involving Hairpin Lace. The Hairpin Lace Cardi Wrap, and the Lotus Smock. Can’t wait to attempt them!

Right, that’s a lot of stuff to squeeze into one post ๐Ÿ™‚

I leave you, with another picture of Kooky:

CIMG2489

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

