knitting

On a fingerless glove binge!


I thought I’d probably make some more Irish Hiking gloves at some point (which I will), but I’m a bit of a thing with other fingerless gloves in general.

I’ve always like the look of Fetching gloves (here on Ravelry, or here for non-Ravellers) and they looked pretty easy, so when Trev took me to John Lewis on Thursday night and said I could spend a bit of cash (awww bless him) I had planned to get a sock kit. But then I saw that the Debbie Bliss Cashmerino was only ยฃ4.50 or so, and they had dpns for only ยฃ2 a pair.

CIMG3080

So I bought some and a pair of 4.0mm dpns and a cable needle. I also bought a pair of 4.5mm dpns to make a pair of Evangeline gloves using the yarn that will be left over from Caroline’s beanie. Fingers crossed I’ll have enough yarn to make a pair of the wrist length gloves.

So I finished the thumb on the first glove this morning!

CIMG3092

They are a bit tight on me but I do have massive man-sized hands. Caroline’s paws are smaller than mine, so hopefully they’ll fit her well. First complex cables I’ve done – only my second ever cabled project, and second knitting project.

I’m not desperately happy with how the thumb turned out – there are holes at the side from the way the stitches are picked up – I’ve managed to hide most of it by weaving the ends in the right places. I also bound the thumb off a bit tight, so it is a bit snug, but if I can get them on my huge hands, Caroline should be ok.

Just hope I have enough yarn to do the second one! I do seem to generally have issues with binding off neatly, but I’m hoping a good blocking will ease the fit problems and some of the issues.

For some reason my purl stitches to the right of the cables are ok – nice and tight despite changing needles but the ones to the left are all loose and saggy – despite me pulling the stitches tight to stop this happening. Thankfully once they’re on, you don’t notice it because they stretch to fit anyway.

They are a bit shorter and tighter than they should be – which is probably a gauge issue. I didn’t swatch for these – which I will have to do for Fetching, to make sure I don’t run out of yarn.

Love fingerless gloves ๐Ÿ™‚

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

