knitting · life

New Year’s Knitalutions


I’ve shamelessly stolen the idea from this post from the good ladies of the Stitch n Bitch London group on Ravelry. There’s a thread from last year where people listed all their “knitalutions” and are now saying what they managed to do and what they’d like to do next year.

Because I couldn’t knit or crochet this time last year, I’m going to put together a little list of my own for things I’d like to achieve in 2009. Here goes:

  • Learn to knit socks (and how to knit them 2 at a time as I already know Magic Loop)
  • Be a selfish crafter – knit and crochet more for myself than I do for other people
  • Learn how to seam knitting properly – I HATE seaming crochet and I’m no good at it, so I need to learn how to seam knitting, especially with my CPH on the needles at the moment
  • Learn to spin! I’m looking at a couple of courses in shops in London. I love the idea of a wheel, but will try out both wheels and spindles to see which I prefer
  • Learn colourwork/stranding/Fair Isle – not too sure I want to learn Intarsia (maybe in 2010) but would love to make a funky Fair Isle hat or something. Thinking Endpaper Mitts (here on Ravelry) to learn?
  • To design something knitted, and maybe something hairpin lace
  • Learn the “raglan” style of making sweaters – learn how to make stuff top-down and seamless
  • Learn more about how garments are constructed so I can make changes and amend things to fit me
  • Learn how to do short row and other shaping to allow for a proper fit in the boobage/waist/hip area
  • Learn all my knitted increases and decreases and more ways to cast on/off
I could probably think of a few more things, but I think that’s enough to be getting on with, don’t you? And of course, I need to finish my CPH as quickly as possible so I can wear it 🙂
I'd love to hear your thoughts!

