spinning

I still hate Royal Mail… just a little less!


After my ranting and railing last week about Royal Mail, they bought me a couple of presents this week.

The first was a book – Spinning in the Old Way by Priscilla Gibson-Roberts. Bought this as a bit of a reference guide for my spindling. Especially good since the book focused on top-whorl spindles, which are the only sort I have.

The second present came on Wednesday. Unfortunately I got home from work very late on Wednesday and we were very late coming home yesterday (more snow – so lots of road accidents and we got stopped by an accident ahead of us at one point and had to walk part way home) so I didn’t have the chance to play until today.

Behold my gorgeous Bosworth Midi in Zebrawood:

Bosworth Midi Zebrawood

Bosworth Midi Zebrawood

Bosworth Midi Zebrawood

Bosworth Midi Zebrawood

Bosworth Midi Zebrawood

Bosworth Midi Zebrawood

Bosworth Midi Zebrawood

Bosworth Midi Zebrawood

Bosworth Midi Zebrawood

Lots of pictures I know, but I went slightly crazy trying to find the perfect picture and showing off the gorgeous wood to best advantage.

The fibre in the picture is my Whisper merino that I bought from World of Wool. I’ll need to buy myself some more yummy fibre to pose my Rosewood Mini with, when it comes. I’ve already set up a whole Flickr set for my Bossies as I plan to own many more and just add to it in future ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s also a couple of pics at my first attempt spinning on it. It seemed to want to spin finer yarn than I tried initially – to begin with I think I was trying to spin too thickly and it kept wanting to backspin on me. With thinner yarn, it seems much happier. Tried to improve my drafting technique a bit and make things more consistent and I seem to be getting there slowly.

This is probably slightly overplied (I used the Andean bracelet technique to 2-ply it) but washing and whacking should sort that out.

There’s only 4-5 yards of what looks like fingering weight, wound up into a mini-skein, and it does look more consistent now it’s plied (apart from my overplied bits) but it shows progress at least.

First yarn spun on Bossie!

First yarn spun on Bossie!

Read a slightly worrying post today in which someone talks about a book where the author reckons it takes 10,000 hours of practice before someone can attain true mastery of something. That’s 2.5 hours every day for 10 years. I really hope it doesn’t take me that long!

Had the day off today, so now I’ve done some spinning I’m going to do a bit more knitting on my CPH (want to get the back finished this weekend and then start on both fronts together) and maybe do some more spinning later on tonight. Been a lovely day off so far!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

