gardening · spinning

Spinning for Socks


I’m finally spinning up a whole bump of “nice” fibre. When we had the Spin-In talk last week, we talked about making spinning pledges for the upcoming week. I pledged to spin up a whole bump of fibre, rather than just making samples. Although given that I’m using a spindle, I knew I wouldn’t be able to get the WHOLE bump done – just wanted to start on it.

And I have! I was at Socktopus on Tuesday and had Diane help me for a bit, to start on my Texel. I want to turn this into socks for Mum – I’ve already mentioned that she loves the colour and the fibre is perfect for socks.

While in Socktopus, I also bought sock needles! I tried to cover a range of sizes that I know I need for different projects and bought Knit Pro Symfonie Fixed Circulars, in 2.50, 2.75, 3.00 and 3.25mm, in an 80cm length. I then realised that most of projects also need the 2.0mm and 2.25mm needles for Arisaig and the Endpaper Mitts… so Trev bless him, has ordered those for me too.

I’m now finished with my first ply for the first sock – here’s an in progress pic:

The Yarn Yard - Fibre Club March 2009

So, still have 3 plies to go, but I’m getting there!

I’m concerned that it’s coming out too thick – the first part I’ve measured the wpi on, and it’s pretty much spot on. The later bits, I’m not sure on. But hopefully we’re ok.

I’m also worried that I’m overtwisting it a bit. But I hope that plying and finishing should sort most of the issues here, as I want it to be a bouncy yarn.

The only other thing I’m worried about, is yardage. I’ve wound the first single onto a felt ball I made, and it doesn’t seem anywhere near the yardage for a sock! It would need to be what, 180-200 yards? But it doesn’t even seem 100! I guess we’ll wait and see what happens.

As an aside, I planted a chilli plant on Friday. We bought a little kit from Tesco and hopefully in a few months, we’ll have chillis! I shall keep the blog updated with regular updates, but here we are on Day One:

Chilli Plants Day One

Watch this space!

2 thoughts on “Spinning for Socks

  1. If you have a true fingering weight on your hands, you want 150 yards minimum, 175 might be more ideal. Start toe-up! Also, you can use a different yarn for toes and heels if you’re worried about running out.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

