crochet · spinning

Hourglass Jacket


Whoops it’s been 2 weeks since I blogged. Very bad of me. But whilst I haven’t been blogging, I haven’t been entirely idle! I’ve still been spinning and crocheting. I even tried a new bit of knitting which ended disastrously, but more of that in a minute.

I started to swatch for the Hourglass Jacket last Monday and I was able to get gauge, so I cast on. I’m finally using up my Rowan Calmer that I bought ageees ago for making Cupcake with, which then got frogged. I’ve done 6 rows now and am working on the armhole increases.

Here’s some pictures after 4 rows:

Hourglass Jacket

Hourglass Jacket

This will be a nice project to work on during the weekday evenings when I don’t fancy spinning for my Mum’s socks.

The only knitting I’ve done this week was to swatch for Arisaig using my new teeny needles which arrived (thank you Hubster – also for spare cables and other bits and pieces we ordered at the same time) and my Rowan 4-ply yarn. However I have severe issues with picking up my yarn-overs when I go back along a purl row. I need to have a go with chunkier yarn and bigger needles until I get comfortable with it. Grrr.

Speaking of the socks, I finished off spinning the singles for one sock yesterday. I wound both singles in a 2-stranded plying ball and will leave them to rest for a few days before I ply. I don’t know whether to start the other singles now, or wait until I’ve plied the first lot as I only have the one spindle to use.

Also on the spinning front, I’ve been doing a bit of purchasing!

I was browsing Etsy the other day and happened on Spindlefrog’s shop just after she had updated it with Luxury Spinner’s Kits. I snagged one called “Antique”, where the colours are a change from my usual pinks and reds – although they do feature some purple. It’s 6 x 1oz of various luxury fibres. Here’s mine all bundled up and then broken out:

Spindlefrog Luxury Spinners Set

Spindlefrog Luxury Spinners Set

Spindlefrog Luxury Spinners Set

From left to right, I think the fibres are:

  • Mohair
  • Alpaca
  • Camel
  • Angora
  • Cashmere
  • Silk

It’s lovely ๐Ÿ™‚ To spin the cashmere and angora properly I need a lighter spindle, so I bought a 12gm Featherweight Bosworth in Canarywood which will hopefully come this week. I bought it from a seller in the UK as Sheila is away at the moment and the exchange rate isn’t really working in my favour! I’ll still get special orders direct, but whilst there’s stock in the UK I should make the most of it.

Unfortunately my Pink Ivory spindle came up a duff. Both blanks they turned were uneven, so they’re going to try again for me in May. So I HAD to buy another spindle as I had the money burning a hole in my pocket.

Because of said hole in pocket, I’ve also recently bought the following from Limegreenjelly on Etsy:

Limegreenjelly - Maybelline

This one is called Maybelline and it’s 103g of 50% merino/50% angora loveliness.

I also bought 2 items in her update last night. I don’t have them here yet, so you’ll just have to have a nose at Jo’s shop listings:

I had to buy Velvet Snow as Trev and I were talking about songs we’d like to turn into fibres and what they would look like. We thought Velvet Snow (after the Kings of Leon song) would be grey with purples/blues in it to symbolise the snow and the velvet. There would also have to be some cashmere to make it feel suitably velvety. Imagine my surprise when Jo told me there was something just like that in this week’s update. So I had to snag it ๐Ÿ™‚

Right, we’ll I’m off to watch the F1 and cast on for Odessa – I want a train project to work on and I have nothing at the moment. Plus it’s in cotton, so it’s nice warm weather knitting. We’re having a spell of beautiful weather at the moment.

Ta ta for now ๐Ÿ™‚

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

