knitting · spinning

Happy May Day!


Happy May Day everyone ๐Ÿ™‚ And naturally, here in the UK it’s raining. We got soaked walking back from my parents which is exactly what you’d expect on a day like today.

Anyway, down to prettiness. I’ve had a whole host of fibre goodness arrive this week, with 2 more (3 more including YY Fibre Club) yet to come. 1 of these packages I’ve just ordered in a moment of weakness, which, if I think about it, applies to the first one as well, which I ordered on Friday after I promised myself I’d go on a fibre diet.

Whoops.

This was Friday’s purchase:

More fibre from Limegreenjelly. This is a merino/silk (70/30) mix called Lhuna.

And I accidentally bought another Luxury Spinners Set from Spindlefrog. I listed the first one I bought on my last blog post and when I saw this pink one tonight, I knew I had to have it. Despite the fact I’m meant to be on a fibre diet right now!

Now these ones I might blend together as they are much more one colour – my Antique set might look a bit muddy if I blended it together. I’ll deal with that dilemma when it turns up ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s the fibres I posted about last week having ordered from Jo.

Velvet Snow – 50% merino, 25% silk, 25% cashmere

Limegreenjelly - Velvet Snow

I LOVE this blend. As I explained in my last post, I had to have the fibre when I heard what Jo had named it.

Careless Whisper – 70% merino, 30% seacell

Limegreenjelly - Careless Whisper

This is the first time Jo has worked with seacell – it looks beautifully soft and shiny. Can’t wait to spin this up. I think it would be a beautiful laceweight shawl.

I had a few dollars left after buying these 2 and my spindle (pics of that to come) I had a few dollars left so I made my first purchase from Shunklies on Etsy:

This is superfine merino that I’ve called Flumps – as it reminds me of the marshmallowy things we can get here in the UK.

I think that covers off the fibre purchases! Many and varied though they are. Ahem.

Right, are you ready for some spindle p0rn? Lots and lots of it? Here’s some pics of my new 12g Canarywood Featherweight with birch shaft. All of these are with Limegreenjelly fibre. Purple fibre = Pink Cashmere. Grey = Careless Whisper. Plum/Orange = Maybelline.

Bosworth Featherweight Canarywood

Bosworth Featherweight Canarywood

Bosworth Featherweight Canarywood

Bosworth Featherweight Canarywood

Bosworth Featherweight Canarywood

Bosworth Mini  Featherweight

Bosworth Mini  Featherweight

All done! Purty huh? And I’ve been busy with it too. Been spinning up some of the orange merino Yoshimi gave to me, just to practice spinning super-fine. Currently coming out at about 60wpi:

Featherweight Bossie in action!

Featherweight Bossie in action!

I’m going to 2-ply this into a nice thin laceweight. Don’t know what I’ll do with it, but the main thing is to practice.

And for a change, I actually have a spinning FO! Well, kinda. Half of one. I’ve finished half of my Yarn Yard Texel that I was spinning into sock yarn for my Mum. I’m pretty happy with how it’s come out. It’s the right weight, but because I’ve overspun (and therefore overplied it) I only have about 80 yards? Anyhow – here’s a pic. I’ve being playing with fds Flickr Toys making picture mosaics. Think it looks cute!

The Yarn Yard - Fibre Club March 2009

And on the knitting front I’ve been finally making progress with my Odessa hat. I’m on my 3rd try… the first time I cast on too many stitches. The second, I managed to lose some stitches and it was coming out completely wrong. So the third time, I’m using pins every 10 stitches as markers and it’s going well. Phew. I have cathartic reasons for wanting to knit this hat, but I’ll go into those later.

Odessa WIP

Thank goodness for 3 day weekends! Just a shame I have to go back to work tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

