knitting

Amelia’s Bootees


Well I’ve finished my first ever pair of knitted bootees:

Amelia's Bootees

Cute eh? I used a pattern called Saartje’s Bootees on Ravelry which has over 5,000 projects linked to it so far. I can post the link to the pdf for anyone who doesn’t have Rav access – just let me know. On the other hand, why DON’T you have Ravelry access yet? Huh? Come on people 🙂

Anyway! I really enjoyed this pattern. It’s quick and cute, despite there being a lot of ends to weave in. Couple of things I wasn’t too happy with on the project:

  • My sewing up of the seams – I officially cannot seam garter stitch. Grr.
  • My button loops. They were terrible. Although I found a tutorial after finishing the first bootee, I had to make the second shoe equally terrible. Will fix next time and use this tutorial from Ysolda instead – Sewn Button Loops.
  • The straps. These straps are not fun. One of them in particular on both shoes didn’t come out very well – I think it’s the one where you CO 10 stitches and then knit the remainder. On the second bootee I managed to do it the wrong way round so the strap raced the wrong way entirely. After a scream, the shoe went flying out the window. Trev retrieved it later however.
I did learn how to do a kfb increase though – previously all I’ve learnt has been a few different decreases, so along with learning how to yo on the Odessa hat, I’m building out my decrease repertoire 🙂
So I will definitely make more of these, but not sure when or for who.
As I needed buttons, I went to my Mum’s and raided her button stash – she’s been collecting buttons since she was 6 and learned to knit. So many of the buttons had appeared on cardigans and things she made for us all when we were kids – such a trip down memory lane – recognising all these old buttons. In particular I remember and I loved some Jemima Puddleduck and Hunka Munka buttons we found. I have since come to the conclusion that I need a button stash too. Let’s see how that goes.
I raided a toggle from Mum’s stash too – with the intention of using it on a Calorimetry. I think I may knit one from the Falkland that came as this month’s YY club shipment. What do you think?

Latest YY Fibre Club with toggle

I have decided that at some point in the future I need to knit Otto. I think I may knit this for my sister (nephew due in 5 weeks) instead of a pair of bootees. She isn’t a very bootee person and I think a little bear would be cute.

Hopefully I will have some more news for you soon on my Endpaper Mitts, but that’s enough for now 🙂

Watch this space!

One thought on “Amelia’s Bootees

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

