spinning

Catching Up


I’m due a blog post or two ๐Ÿ™‚

I still haven’t gone through my photos of Vienna and uploaded them yet, or blogged about our trip to Burghley. But unfortunately I’ve had other things to tackle! I’ve only just gone back to work this week after 2 weeks off work with Swine Flu! I’ll spare you the unpleasant details but I fell sick when visiting my sister and the new baby 2 weeks ago. I spent a week with the flu, but unfortunately the Tamiflu I took caused some nasty side effects and I spent last week off work too.

Unfortunately it didn’t give me any extra knitting or spinning time as I couldn’t sit or be up for long enough to do anything. It’s only now that I feel well enough to actually do stuff!

With getting paid last Friday and starting to feel a bit better, I treated myself to some new bits, which I’ll show at the weekend after I can take pictures of them. But I’ve bought some new yarn (when did I last buy yarn?!?), some new fibre and then done a trade for some Spunky Club fibre.

I also had the arrival of a new toy I’ve been waiting for, for a while:

Latest Bosworth Package!

A package from the Bosworths! It’s my Pink Ivory Mini with an Ebony shaft that I’ve been waiting on for a little while and a copy of the new book, Productive Spindling. Plus a tub of Wood Beams for good measure. Here’s some more piccies:

Bosworth Mini Pink Ivory

Bosworth Mini Pink Ivory

Bosworth Mini Pink Ivory

Bosworth Mini Pink Ivory

Bosworth Mini Pink Ivory

I adore this spindle. Not done much spinning on it yet, except for sampling, but it’s gorgeous. Beautiful wood grain and it’s just a dream to use. It weighs 27gms/0.96oz, which is perfect for sock weight singles – just what I wanted it for.

I’ve started to spin up the Time of the Month fibre that I bought into socks and once I’ve got the hang of it I’ll use this to start to spin up some sock yarn for myself.

I also had my first proper shipment of Spunky Eclectic Club Fibre arrive – a beautiful merino/bamboo blend called Beach Day.

Spunky Eclectic - Beach Day

It’s a 60/40 mix and there’s 3oz of it. Unfortunately I’m not a huge fan of the colours, so I’ve already swapped it for the June fibre – which I’ll show in a later post once I’ve taken piccies. I’m just not a big green fan – some people seemed to have more blue in theirs, but since I can’t think of what to do with it, I shouldn’t just spin it for the sake of it. Plus I love the June fibre more – was gutted to miss out on it ๐Ÿ™‚

So just a quick update for now – I’ll take some more pics at the weekend of the new arrivals – so far 2 x fibre and 1 x yarn. I need to get my knitting mojo back as it will be winter before I know it and I haven’t finished my hoody yet… Shocking!

Back at the weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

