knitting

Ishbel


So I can officially call myself a lace knitter now! After finishing the Ripley hats, I cast on for Ishbel. I’ve been planning to knit it for ages and finally persuaded myself that I might be able to manage it. I’d also been saving my Koigu for something other than socks, and this seemed ideal.

So we went from this:

Koigu KPPPM

to this:

Ishbel WIP

I had some issues at the very beginning of section A and had to frog back to my lifeline (how I love lifelines) but other than that I seemed to have no problems throughout the rest of the pattern. I think counting every single row helped with that A LOT. The only slight fubar I had was where I’d missed a YO on a row but I was able to pick it up later on and it doesn’t seem to have caused any issues now it’s blocked.

Blocked it last night, and now finished, it looks like this:

Ishbel outdoors

Ishbel FO

Ishbel FO

Ishbel FO

Here’s the few mods I made:

For cast-on edge did the below instead:
Cast on 3 sts, 1st row, P3, 2nd row K1M1 twice, then K1, 3rd row P5. 4th row K1M1 4times, K1. You now should have the required 9sts, and your next row is the first purl row of the stocking st instructions.

For the yarn-overs:
Make my first one with k2, yo, k1 for the k3, yo at the start of the row and then end with k1, yo, k2 instead of yo, k3.

I made the small stockinette with small lace version and only used just over 250yds of yarn. So I think with the 440yds that I have in my Knitting Goddess Luxury Sock, I should be able to knit the large stockinette and small lace – make it a bit bigger and warmer.

This one is lovely and warm (I have no pics of it on me, unfortunately) and I’ve already gifted it to my Mum who was oohing and aahing over my knitting prowess when I saw her at the weekend. We’ve both had a crappy few days with family (collectively they’ve ruined my day off today) so I wanted to give her something to cheer it up. She was very grateful 🙂

But I guess now this means I have to knit another! Oh dear.

I also ordered some more yarn this week. I had a voucher from The Yarn Yard to spend in the shop so when Natalie did a shop update this week, I grabbed the below:

The Yarn Yard Clan

Yarn Yard Clan, in 1331, Happy, Botanic and Electric. Trying to work out what colour combos go best with what (I love the yellow but it’s the hardest one to pair up well). I might knit some colourwork mittens… or who knows. I guess I need to stock up on my stash in 2009 so I can try and use it up in 2010!

Ideas on the best colour combos and patterns to use them would be much appreciated. It’s all sock weight yarn, by the way 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

