food · life

Changes Part 2


So, an update on my earlier post where I spoke about moving to Leeds. The first interview went really well and I went back for a second interview on Friday. I had to do a 30 minute presentation and also be interviewed by the MD. Unsure about how it went – was hoping to hear back Friday or today, but no news yet. Fingers crossed!

We spent the whole weekend in Leeds – going up Friday and coming back last night. We stayed with Sarah, who we will hopefully be moving in with. We had a nice night in on Friday, went to Salvos for dinner on Saturday and did a nice bit of shopping on Sunday in Leeds city centre – getting to know the place.

I’d forgotten that Leeds has hills – given that it’s in Yorkshire and whatnot. I know at this point people are probably thinking, “hills? Where did you GO?” – but I’d remind everyone that I live in Peterborough. On the edge of the Fens – where the highest point is something crazy like only 2 metres above sea level – and hopefully you get the idea ๐Ÿ™‚

Salvos was one of the high points of the weekend – it had always been popular (and you can’t book – you just turn up and queue) – but since it won best regional Italian on Gordon Ramsay’s the F Word, it’s been even more mental. We made our way over at about 7pm, expecting a wait of about an hour – oh no. Two and a half hours was the waiting time – they wouldn’t be able to seat us until 9:30. Wow.

So, we went away, drank a bottle or so of wine, and came back about 9. Picked our food, got seated at 9:25, while watching other people STILL queueing to be served at 10:45. Mental.

But, I can see why. The food was AMAZING – quite possibly the best food I’ve ever eaten. It was all amazing – and I’ve never seen a kitchen quite so calm. Considering how rammed the place was, there’s was no panicking, no stress. And if you ever go, have the Mars Bar Fondue for dessert. OMG. That is all.

One of the other highlights was my first trip to Baa Ram Ewe – my soon to my local yarn store. I succumbed and splurged on some beautiful Orkney Angora laceweight. There was a beautiful sample in the store knitted into a scarf and I’m determined to copy it. There’s a lovely selection of yarns in there and I know I’ll be back very often once we move. There’s a knit night every Thursday which might become a regular fixture.

Piccies of the yarn to come soon (once I get some time at home in daylight), along with some of other yarn I’ve acquired for baby projects.

Busy busy busy!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

