food · life

Things I’m going to miss about London


So, it’s official. I have a job, and we are moving to Leeds on April 2nd!

I didn’t get the job mentioned in my last blog post – but have since been offered 2 others, one of which I’ve accepted. It’s a nice step up for me, and exactly in the line of work I’m doing. A few things I’m unsure of, such as client base, but I’ll see how we go.

So. London. Leaving it. In truth, there’s not that much I’m going to miss about London – I’m a real country girl at heart. I can’t wait to be in a little stone cottage and maybe acquire a few chickens and some bees. And spin in front of an open fire. And be near proper countryside. You couldn’t really get further removed from the hubbub of Oxford Street where I work.

Having said that, there are a few things I’m going to miss. I wanted to put a small list together – to give me reasons to make the effort to come back down to London every so often when we come and stay with my lot in Peterborough.

  • Hummingbird Bakery – the most amazing cakes and cupcakes I’ve ever had. I am going to buy their cookbook and replicate lots of red velvet gorgeousness at home
  • Eagle Bar and Diner (a lot of these are going to be food related) – American style diner with burgers, hot dogs, huge bowls of skinny fries and the BEST milkshakes. OMG. Went there for lunch again today – divine.
  • Busaba – (Busaba Eathai) – a chain of Thai restaurants. Amazing food, served really quickly. Thai chicken curry with jasmine rice and veggie vietnamese spring rolls FTW. Nom.
  • Afternoon tea at the Lanesborough – VERY expensive, but totally worth it – if you can get past feeling so utterly out of place! I don’t drink tea, but the iced tea is incredible and you get sandwiches, cakes and of course, scones with clotted cream and jam.
  • Great buildings – I love the architecture of buildings such as St. Pancras train station, the Liberty building and so many other places in London. It’s full of amazing buildings and so much history. One of my favourite things that I have on the way to work every day are the little blue plaques on certain buildings that say which important people in history lived, worked and sometimes died there. I love history and feeling a connection to the past. Needless to say one building I won’t miss, is Centrepoint. I have to agree with Helen from the AnswerMeThis podcast who once said, “Centrepoint’s a f**king ugly building”. ‘Nuff said.
  • Last, but by no means least, my friends. I have some great friends at work and on Twitter (even though I haven’t met some of you!) who I’m going to miss like crazy. It’s been a pleasure knowing and spending time with you and hope we can all keep in touch. You guys are the main reason I’ll be coming back to London – even though most of this list is food-related.
Should have time to do a knitting-related post this weekend. Getting so behind! Got packing to do and an unlimited amount of stressing. I’m the kind of person who stresses when there’s nothing to stress about, so now there IS actually something, I’m my own worst enemy. Fingers crossed once I don’t have to do the 4 hour commute anymore, I’ll resemble a human being more than a nervous wreck šŸ™‚
One thought on “Things I’m going to miss about London

  1. I always hoped I would get up to London to meet you at something or other. Maybe I will get to see you when you are visiting London! Good luck with everything!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

