shop · spinning

The beginnings of Kooky-dom


Kooky Kat Kreations is off to a good start this weekend! My Mini Moo cards arrived – these are cards I had created so I can attach them to skeins of handspun. They look amazing:

Kooky Kat Kreations Mini Moo Cards

Kooky Kat Kreations Mini Moo Cards

Kooky Kat Kreations Mini Moo Cards

I hope this furry little visage will come to be quite well-known in time. The cards have also given me a theme for a colour-scheme when selling and packaging items. I’ve already ordered some stickers, along the same theme, to use to hold tissue paper wrapped around something. The tissue paper of course, is going to have to be orange – and that just remains to figure out what to do about bags. I need to look at postage bags and also at carriers, in case I sell handspun at any local events, etc. But I’ll show you the stickers when they turn up ๐Ÿ™‚

So far, I have 3 skeins of handspun ready for sale and today I can add a fourth. You’ll recognise it as this project I’ve had in progress for the last month:

Yarn Yard - Red Squirrel - WIP

I give you, Red Squirrel – from the May 2009 Yarn Yard Fibre Club. It’s 75% superwash merino, 25% nylon. I was hoping to spin it up as laceweight – practising long draw. It was my second proper wheel project, although I know I have since finished numbers three and four already. The plying took an age (mainly because I kept putting off doing it), but here are the results:

Yarn Yard - Red Squirrel - FO

Yarn Yard - Red Squirrel - FO

Kinda happy with it – it’s lovely and soft and squooshable but I’m disappointed with the yardage. I was hoping to get to about 600 yards, but this is instead around 460, which is not slouchy by any standards. In terms of weight, it’s a light fingering or sock weight, aka heavy lace – would do lovely for a shawlette or a scarf. Unsure how it would do for socks as it’s a 2 ply, and not very tightly plied. Full specs:

Singles: approx 30wpi
Spun: supported long-draw
Plied yarn: 2 ply, using tensioned lazy kate
Finishing: warm water soak, snapping
Finished yarn: approx 20wpi, 465 yards, 101 grams

Spun on: Kromski Mazurka
Started: 22nd April 2010
Finished: 22nd May 2010

So I guess that the yardage isn’t bad considering the weight – it’s a similar thickness to some commercial sock yarn I’m knitting with at the moment, so it’s only not as long because I didn’t spin it thin enough – which will come with time. Weird, because I find it so easy to spin thin on my spindles. Gonna take practice, I guess.

So that’s 3 skeins in a couple of weeks – and I’m over a third of the way through singles for another. It’s nice to be able to get through some of my outstanding WIPs, and free up the wheel and spindles for projects I can do without feeling guilty. I’ve got some lovely luxurious fibres I want to spin… 50g here, 50g there, all of which would be perfect spindle projects – but since spindling takes me longer, I want to churn out some other stuff first so I can make a dent in my stash.

Once I’ve spun up a few more skeins, I’ll do a family photo of the yarn that’s going up for sale – so if anyone wants to snaffle some they can.

Watch this space!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

