knitting · spinning

Baby Bits


Been a busy bunny the last few weeks. We went to the Big Knit (more on that soon) but I’ve been busy knitting some bits for some new arrivals!

I also totally forgot to post my most recent and my new favourite handspun. I mentioned it a couple of posts ago, when I showed a picture of the yellow and purple Pansy top. I did indeed manage to spin it as a graduated single:

Spunky Eclectic - Pansy - WIP

Spunky Eclectic - Pansy - WIP

Spunky Eclectic - Pansy - FO

The stats:

Singles: approx 20-25 wpi
Spun: semi-worsted, forward draw
Plied yarn: not plied – kept as singles
Finishing: h/c/h/c/h shock treatment, whacking and snapping
Finished yarn: approx 20-25 wpi, 600 yards, 107 grams

Spun on: Kromski Mazurka
Started: 5th June 2010
Finished: 6th June 2010

You can see the changes in the colours too – and I think I pretty much got the thickness I wanted too. A bit finer would have been nice, but I’m sure that will come with time.

At the Big Knit, this was by far my most fondled and asked about yarn. I’ve decided to put it in my shop, which is almost up and running. I just need to take some better pics of the yarn and other items. I hope it eventually goes to someone who will love knitting with it as much as I did spinning it!

Now for the baby bits. I’ve very recently finished knitting up the cutest baby hat in the world:

Tubey - FO

It’s a Tubey, by WoollyWormhead. This may go in the shop too, as I finished it a bit late for the intended bub (Trev went down to see his sister, and it’s for her daughter), and she still ended up with a handknit present. May I present to you the Garter Yoke Baby Cardi:

Garter Yoke Cardi - FO

Garter Yoke Cardi - FO

Garter Yoke Cardi - FO

I LOVE the buttons. The best ones in the world!

The cardi was very fast to knit and lots of fun. My first ever yoked garment and I like the seamless way this one was constructed. There is a small error with the i-cord button band (you need to omit the YO in the instructions), and my band came out a bit tight and needed to be blocked to death, but still looks good. And Trev’s sister loved it, which is great news! The cardi and hat were actually knitted from the same yarn – shows what difference pictures make. The actual colour is slightly more purple than the hat, but that’s the closest image.

Now realised that this post is horrendously long and I daren’t chew up any more bandwith talking about the Big Knit. Let’s do that in a separate post. See you there!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

