knitting · spinning

The Big Knit, Granary Wharf


So, despite my worries about how the day would go, it actually went ok!

We got packed up and ready on the Friday night, after I’d done my best to sort through the massive bag of freebies Wingham had sent me for practice and display:

Wingham Stash

Lots of silks, different wool samples… all sorts. We settled on notice boards and pinned stuff as the best way to display things and I think it looked pretty good!

The Big Knit, Leeds

The Big Knit, Leeds

Our lovely landlady lent us a tablecloth and drove us to the event in the morning – and also picked us up in the evening. We had a bit of a panic when we got there as the weather was so windy – nothing stayed put on tables and there was wondering as to how sustainable this would be throughout the day.

But the weather soon brightened up and we ended up with a gloriously hot sunny day. Verity at Baa Ram Ewe had done an amazing job of promoting it, along with all the volunteers as the turnout was very impressive.

We didn’t manage to get too many pics of my stand once up and running, but I’ve cropped up in a video and few other photos around the interweb. My plan for the day was to demo spinning on the wheel and on spindles and to then teach spindle spinning to anyone who may want to learn! I ended up with 4 or 5 excellent students who all took to it very quickly and they all went home with their very first handspun yarn. One of my students even stood there and knitted up her yarn straight away into a little knitted swatch – brilliant!

There is perhaps talk of my teaching a small spindle class at Baa Ram Ewe – we’ll see. I’m unsure of my abilities as a teacher, but I’ll sound out potential interest at Knit Night this week and see if anyone fancies it.

I didn’t manage to sell any yarn, which didn’t matter too much for me. It was more about gauging interest and seeing whether there is anyone out there who might want to buy it, which I think there is. Given me a bit of impetus to get the shop up and running once, as I mentioned in my last post, I take better pics of the yarn. I also need to work out fees and turning amounts into dollars, and the costs of using Paypal etc. Lots to think about!

I’ll end this post with some more pics – I hope the picture takers don’t mind my linking to the photos (as I’m in them). I’m massively overwhelmed at how many super talented crafty people there are in Leeds – we’re very lucky to live in such a crafty area. We couldn’t have picked a better place if we had planned it – and since we didn’t, that’s even better luck ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks everyone for such a great day – I hope to see you next year! Massive kudos also goes to all the volunteers who taught people to knit and crochet on the day. I wish I’d had more time to go around the other stalls and see what other people were doing, but fingers crossed next time.

3 thoughts on “The Big Knit, Granary Wharf

  1. Oooh how awesome! I didn’t know you were going to be all set up there! I bet you’d make a good teacher, just look at what you’re coming up with, it’s gorgeous!

    1. Thanks hun! I guess we’ll see ๐Ÿ™‚ Still so much I want to learn myself which makes me feel unqualified to teach others, but we’ll see how we go.

      My deciding to take a stand at the Big Knit was a bit of a last minute thing – not being a proper vendor I was unsure exactly what to do, but our stall being more of a spinning information point with lots of stuff to touch and feel I think was the right thing to do.

      Some good pics tho! (Although I’m either showing my bum or got my gob open in all of them) ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hi Azzy,

    I love the picures – I wish I could have come to visit your stand!!!

    But one thing is for sure: you are a great teacher!!!!

    Hope to see you and Trev soon,
    Sarah

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

