knitting

The Simple Things…


…in life are the best.

I finished my Simple Things shawlette last week after the World Cup Final (wooo go Spain!) but it’s taken me until now to be able to take pictures. It progressed from this:

Simple Things - WIP

to this:

Simple Things - FO

Simple Things - FO

Simple Things - FO

Gratuitous modelled pic:

Simple Things - FO

Most of the pics aren’t the right colour – and the one where I am modelling isn’t quite right either. The best colour is probably shown in the WIP pic.

It was a lovely, simple knit and really enjoyable. Despite having extra yarn, I knitted the pattern exactly as written and it’s come out to the same size. Weirdly though, I only used 65g of yarn – or about 285 yards – instead of about 350 – so there must be something queer going on with my gauge. The only thing I did change, was the bind-off. Instead of binding off purlwise, I did the following: *p2tog, slip st to left hand needle, repeat from *.

I LOVED knitting the pattern – but really was not keen on the yarn. Not soft, and the singles nature of it was a bit weird. Very splitty too. But I do like the colours… you can’t win them all! The dodgy tension evened out totally with blocking. WHEN I knit this again – I’ll probably do so with a yarn that is more luxurious as this one is slightly rough next to my skin.

Straight away cast on for something else. I’m knitting a sample for the lovely Ruth at Rock and Purl. She’s sent me some amazing Knitting Goddess yarn – it’s a 4 ply sock that is 75/25 merino/nylon and it is MUCH softer than I expected given the nylon content. Beautiful colours too:

Knitting Goddess - Sock Yarn - Semi Solid Beige

It’s very squishy and bouncy and just gorgeous. Absolutely beautiful. I’ve got through the first few rows, and the pattern is coming out nicely:

Heartstrings - WIP

This is a pattern I wanted to knit anyway, so more than happy to be sample knitting πŸ™‚

However unable to control my start-itis and inspired by Woolly Wormhead coming to BRE this week, I have cast on for one of her hats – Tinker. In an adult size. In pink. Here it is so far:

Tinker - WIP

This may well look ridiculous on me when it’s finished, but I don’t care. I have no shame πŸ™‚ And it’s great practice for cabling without a cable needle – as you cable every six stitches, on 8 out of 10 rows. I must be mad to be knitting an aran weight hat in July, but then the weather has been terrible, so..

Enough of knitting. Now onto yummy, yummy yarn. You may note that there has been no mention of spinning in this post, despite it being Tour de Fleece. Unfortunately my wheel and I aren’t getting on very well, so I’m sticking to knitting for a few weeks and will go back to it. It’s just not clicking for me right now and I don’t want to force it. I got a couple of FOs done, which I will follow up with in a separate post – but it’s just weird.

But the yarn. A couple of posts ago I showed off my first skein of Wollmeise that I’d bought from Bettina. I’ve since managed to take a couple of better pics. This one is in the 80/20 merino/nylon Twin blend and the colour TΓΌrkise Markise:

Wollmeise Twin TΓΌrkise Markise

At the moment I think this is going to become an Ishbel or something suitably shawl-like.

I’ve also been getting the hang of the Wollmeise Friday updates. There’s one update that happens on a Friday morning about 7:30am UK time, which is the individual skeins. Unfortunately this clashes with my needing to go to work and given that I don’t know what colours I like yet, it’s not a massive issue.

On Friday afternoons, you have the grab bags update. These are bags of either 2 or 5 skeins that are labelled as “We’re Different” for some reason, i.e. the colour isn’t quite right. You pick whether you want a mix of colours, or randoms etc, based on availability, but then the skeins you get are a surprise!

Last Friday I managed to score a “Gemischt” (one multicolour skein with a compatible semi-solid) bag in 100% superwash merino. And I got:

Wollmeise 100% Blue Suzanne WD

A particularly beautiful Blue Suzanne which I think is much prettier than the standard colour and:

Wollmeise 100% Minze WD

Minze – which in real life is a bit more vibrant and emerald-coloured. Unfortunately both of these look terrible against my skin tone due to the green (I have to wear cool colours in general), so the Blue Suzanne is already on it’s way to a good home in France and the Minze will be going up for sale or trade too.

I scored another bag yesterday, a twin Kunterbunt (mixed, non-matching colours) so am very excited to see what comes this week.

I also succumbed to temptation from the Knitting Goddess’ weekly newsletter which promoted cashmere in the sale shop with more than 25% off. After trying to think sensibly and pick the colour that would suit me most, rather than the one I liked the best, I’ve gone for a gorgeous semi-solid slate. Despite only ordering at lunchtime, it’s here already! Thank you Knitting Goddess for such speedy postage.

CIMG6278

It’s so soft and at 75g, contains approx 525m of yarn – so skinny, but not super so. Thoughts on what to make from it? It definitely needs to be near my face.

Sorry for the really pic heavy post – it’s been a bit overdue. With family here last weekend I fell a bit behind on things.

I’ve also finally decided to frog Otto the teddy bear. He was meant to be a present for a new nephew but unfortunately we had a family falling out last year which took all the joy out of this knit.

I think I’ll be happier with the guilt of him gone. It’s a shame as it’s a lovely pattern and I’ll definitely do it again, but if I’ve not knitted on it in over a year, it’s probably best to get rid of it and the bad feeling that goes with it.

Hope everyone is having a good weekend!

2 thoughts on “The Simple Things…

  1. I cannot thank you enough for doing this sample for me! I’m so busy at the moment I can’t even blog!

    I love everything you posted in here… I’m so jealous about the cashmere though…

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

