crochet

Tawashi Time


Looking forward to Knit Night tonight – I desperately need to pick up some more yarn and make some more tawashis for the kitchen!

For the last few months we’ve been using the tawashis I posted in an old post (click this linky to read about them and to find out what tawashis actually ARE) and they’ve worked brilliantly! Clean anything off anything, and no matter how grubby they get you can just chuck them in the washing machine and they come out nice and disinfected.

Of course, issues arise when you eat a lot of curry (like we do) and generally just eat a lot (like we do). This means that some of the tawashis have turned a bit yellow over time and are now looking a bit worse for wear after all the washing up.

So tonight, I’m going to grab some brightly coloured acrylic yarn and make some more! There’s a really good super chunky yarn I’ve got in mind to make a larger, sturdier tawashi. Just what we need šŸ™‚

Going to make some more in this style, and hopefully in two colours again too.

Spiral Tawashi

It’s also a good way to make sure I keep crocheting. Haven’t done any for a while as I’m into my knitting but it’s nice to keep both crafts up. Watch this space for pics!

BTW, for some stupid pictures of me and Trev, check out these blog posts from Baa Ram Ewe (Trev pic) and Woolly Wormhead (me pic) about the special event last Thursday.

Oh for more time! And more creative chops! I’d love to be able to design, but unfortunately I have a very analytical brain that just isn’t geared that way. So I’m going to rope Trev into help me šŸ™‚

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

