knitting

Gretel


Ages and ages ago I bought the yarn to make a Gretel. It’s one of those patterns that I wanted to knit despite doubting that the FO would suit me (I have the wrong shaped head for berets).

I knitted in August over a few days when going down to visit family. At the time we struggled to take some good pictures, so I didn’t blog about it. But finally today, we managed to get some pictures that I’m happy with. Firstly, here’s a photo of the hat while blocking:

Gretel - FO

And now modelled pics taken in the park:

Gretel - FO

Gretel - FO

Gretel - FO

I made the slouchy size (the largest) and I do like the way it sits and drapes. Since I don’t think it suits me I will probably give it away to my mum who was eyeing it up while I knitted it – this style of hat is much more her.

That brings us pretty much bang up to date apart from a couple of other small things.

I sold my 3 skeins of Wollmeise Dunkle Kirsche that I had for making a cardigan so that I could try and get hold of another colour I fancied instead. Claudia at WM has recently started dyeing a new red called Bussi, which is listed as a “strong, cold red”. As soon as I saw pics of it, I knew I had to have some. Typically, in the 4 or so shop updates I’ve stalked in recent weeks, not one has had Bussi 100% in it. So I’ve resorted to stalking people’s stashes and making requests. I am now the proud owner of one skein, with more on the way:

Wollmeise 100% Bussi

I love this colour beyond belief! The PERFECT red for me and I can’t wait to get some stuff from my queue gone so that I can start knitting.

I had decided to give Nakniswemo a go (where you try and knit a 50,000 stitch sweater in one month) and had recast on for another Central Park Hoodie. Due to having had a crazy busy week so far, I’m already way behind, but I think I will keep knitting on it as my “at home” project. I am planning a travel project as we speak, which I should have more info on in the next post.

Busy busy busy!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

