knitting

Twist and Shout


It’s the time of year when we are graced with a new issue of Twist Collective. For those of you that don’t know, TC is an online magazine that’s been around for 2 years now (I think?!) and releases one issue a quarter. We’ve just had the release of the Winter 2010 issue, which is super exciting for me as one of my friends, the very talented RockandPurl has a pattern in it!

Ruth is Spanish (as her bio on the site will tell you) and her pattern, Sin Miedo is named after the Spanish word for “fearless”. If you take a look at her blog there’s a lovely post about how the pattern came into being. It’s also an amazing pair of socks. Go buy them! Click here! Or here! Just buy them ๐Ÿ™‚

This is not the end to Ruth’s creativity! TC came out on Monday, but on Sunday she released another new pattern called Godiva. This one I HAVE to knit (although I have to knit the socks too!). I have a skein of cashmere that would be absolutely perfect for it – it’s a beautiful lace stole knitted end to end with a knitted on edging. This one has gone straight to the top of my queue and will be started on as soon as I finish Melomelo. You can never have too many scarfy things and in the north of England right now, it is definitely the season.

The problem is, I have yet more of Ruth’s patterns that I want to knit. I had no idea, when I started to knit my Heartstrings sample for her, that I’d end up wanting to knit practically everything she designs. She’s going to end up as one of these very prolific, sickeningly creative people whose sole purpose in life is to add to my Ravelry queue. I say this in jest of course, with only a hint of jealousy ๐Ÿ˜‰

Also queued is another beautiful sock pattern called She Wore Blue, which uses both cables and lace. One of the things I love with Ruth’s sock patterns, is that being large of foot herself, she gives consideration to those of us who have wide clown-feet, rather than petite dainty tootsies. So I can happily buy the patterns and start knitting, confident I’ll have something I can actually wear, rather than give away.

And finally, there’s also a blanket KAL! As well as scarf season, it’s definitely blanket season and the Invierno Blanket, which is currently part of a mystery (hence the secretive picture!) KAL (visit The Rock and Purl Rav group for more info) is perfect – especially as the finished blanket is going to end up in the region of six feet or so, I reckon.

The main problem I have, is where to find the time? It’s getting to the point where I’m going to have to give up sleep to fit everything I want to knit into my life in a reasonable timescale! It doesn’t help that I’m not the fastest knitter in the world and the more I knit, the more I discover other designers to add to my predicament.

Over the next couple of weeks I’m going to do a few posts on designers who I’m really interested in at the moment. I’m sure most of them won’t be a surprise to many of you – I’m a bit behind on the knitting scene but it still feels very exciting to me to be discovering a lot of them for the first time.

Now, where did I put my spare pair of hands?

2 thoughts on “Twist and Shout

  1. You trying to earn commission or something? Girl, thanks for your kind kind kind post!!!! I hope you do grow those extra arms, or just quit sleeping. Works for me….

    I’ll have you know I’m not “large of foot” – I’m genetically modified to spread weight evenly along a large surface. :p Survival of the fittest and all that means in a snow situation, I will not fall through 7ft of snow. xxx

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

