knitting

Have a break… have a cute Kat Hat


I’ve finally taken pictures of that Kat hat! Trev and I went out for a walk to the park today – we have glorious sunshine and it’s quite warm – not bad considering that it snowed yesterday. We ended up with about 1-2 inches of settled snow… very odd to come home from Brighton to that!

Anyway, without further ado, here it is:

Kat Hat

I love love love this. It’s knitted from 1.3 skeins of Rowan Kid Classic in Smudge – the first time I’ve used any of the Rowan Kid yarns. It’s beautifully warm and toasty – which is excellent as it was knitted to be my dead-of-winter-hat because as lovely as my Wollmeise Slable is, it’s not the warmest of hats.

This hat is written to be knitted flat and seamed – I couldn’t be bothered with this and instead adapted it to knit in the round. Kim Hargreaves is an excellent designer, but I don’t understand why the pattern is written in this way. If anything it makes it harder as it adds an extra finishing step. The problem with converting it to knit in the round, is it meant that some of the rows, and particularly the increase row of the hat, had to be knitted backwards and inside out. I REALLY struggled with the increase row. I must have knitted and ripped it about four times.

In the end, being determined to not be defeated by it, I wrote the whole thing out, bit by bit – with the number of stitches you should have after each section. I’ve entered it into a spreadsheet that you can look at here.

You can then decide whether or not you want to reduce the 161 stitches back down to 160 for knitting in the round.

At the end of the increase round, instead of purling the last stitch, I moved it to the start of the next round and purled it together with the first purl stitch to give me a total of 160 stitches (as I don’t need to seam) and to bring the pattern in line with the rest of the hat.

The only other change I made was to knit the ribbing with a 3.5mm needle, rather than 3.75mm.

The hat is probably a touch looser than I’d like after blocking, but I do love it to pieces.

To finish, here’s an arty picture of me, in the hat, stood next to Meanwood Beck:

Kat Hat

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

