knitting

Noro Squares and Stripes


As mentioned in previous posts, I wanted to knit Trev a new Turn A Square hat, similar to the one we’ve seen in Baa Ram Ewe. To that end, I bought five balls of Noro when I did my shopping on Christmas Eve. For the hat, we were going to use a ball of Noro Silk Garden in shade 272 and a ball of Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran in black:

Turn A Square Kit

I know I said that I wasn’t going to cast on any new projects until I’d finished some wips, but I’d finished my Fiddlehead Mittens (more on those in another post) and I knew I could knit the hat in a day. So I sat down last Sunday morning and got knitting. I managed to finish the hat in a blinding 4.5 hours! Amazing how quickly I can knit when I keep away from the laptop and just get on with it.

I added an extra couple of rounds before the crown decreases which didn’t turn out to be a good decision as the hat is probably a little bit longer than I’d like – but it suits Trev and is warm and very soft:

Noro Squares

In that picture you can also see a glimpse of Trev’s Noro Striped Scarf that I started the same evening, after winding up all the yarn.

Noro Striped Scarf Yarns

This only took a few days to knit – despite going away for business, I got it done in 5 days – I could have done it in three if I hadn’t had to go to work (isn’t that always the problem?).

As much as I love the finished object, the Noro drove me mad – particularly the first two balls. I have FIVE knots in the first two balls – one of which changed the colour from bright orange to purple – looks terrible in the finished object. Given that the balls are only 50g each, on average that’s a knot per 20g – totally unacceptable in a yarn that costs this much.

In addition to the knots, one of the balls was so thick/thin and slubby as to almost be unusable – this was the ball that had three knots and it made it impossible to try and maintain any sort of decent tension. As if the uneveness wasn’t enough, there’s was so much VM and general crap in the yarn, that I spent ages picking out bits of rubbish. As a spinner, the yarn has driven me mental. It’s a shame because I do love the colours and the texture and if softens amazingly when washed – but for a scarf that cost Β£33 for four balls of yarn, I don’t feel like it was particularly good value for money.

Having said that, I will perhaps knit with it again should it be the most suited for a particular project, but I begrudge the price.

Now I’ve got that little rant out of the way, now for some pretty pictures:

Noro Striped Scarf

Noro Striped Scarf

Noro Striped Scarf

Trev loves it – and declares it to be his favourite thing that I’ve knitted for him – given that the scarf is longer than he is tall (over 6.5 feet or 190cms) it’s a proof of how much I love him, in case he was in any doubt… πŸ™‚

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

