knitting

Happy Socks


I popped back to Baa Ram Ewe today to buy some buttons for the finished project that I haven’t yet taken any pictures off. I’ve blocked it, and it’s dry – but I have to attach the buttons before I can wear it and take photos. But my buttons are super cool:

Incomparable Buttons

Ceramic – handmade in South Africa. I absolutely love them and they’ll be the perfect accent for my FO.

While in the shop, I picked up a half-price ball of Jamieson Shetland Heather:

Jamieson's Shetland Heather - Mantilla

It actually goes perfectly with a skein of grey I already have at home:

Jamieson's Shetland Heather - Eider Duck

So I have 50g each (100 yards each) of aran weight – and I’m looking for project ideas. Colourwork hat or mittens?

So I promised to show pictures of the Spice Lady socks in progress. So here we are.

The yarn has gone from this:

Spindlefrog Merino Sock Yarn

to this:

Sugar & Spice & All Things Nice Socks

Don’t they look super cool and cheerful? There’s some interesting pooling going on at the foot, because I’m using a 72 stitch count and 2.25mm needles. So I’m getting quite a dense fabric, which is nice. If I did them again, I’d probably use 2.5mm, but you live and learn. Hopefully these will wear pretty well.

So news of my bonus socks! I’m going to knit another pair of Sinuous socks. Ruth has made a couple of tweaks to the pattern which will mean my second pair will be a bit different – and I have the perfect yarn in mind:

The Knitting Goddess Luxury Sock Yarn

This is Luxury Sock yarn from the Knitting Goddess – and contains some cashmere. Mmm. Going to get Trev to help me wind it a little later – and will cast on the socks when the Spice Ladies are done.

Hopefully pics of the buttons attached to their project tomorrow!

In the meantime, I’m going to enjoy the FA Cup final along with some Budweiser and my knitting. If you have any suggestions for colourwork projects for the yarn, leave them below!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

