sewing

Refurbishment Complete!


Warning in advance – this is going to be a picture heavy post.

In my last post I mentioned that we were refinishing the cabinet of my vintage Singer sewing machine. We’d already managed to take it from looking like this:

My Vintage Singer Sewing Machine

To looking like this once we’d stripped off the veneer and sanded it down:

Grace's Cabinet Refurb

It now, after several coats of paint, looks like this:

Grace's Cabinet Refurb - Finished!

Grace's Cabinet Refurb - Finished!

Better, don’t you think?

So now, when she’s out on the table (which she will probably be permanently, once she returns from her service) she looks like this, after a quick clean:

Grace in her new cabinet

Grace in her new cabinet

Grace in her new cabinet

She’s getting there but until my sewing machine oil comes, I’m reluctant to try and clean her any more. Even though the oil isn’t here, I have had a load of other goodies arrive:

New toys for Grace!

You can click to Flickr for a full review of that’s there, but some of the items include:

  • Singer Instruction Manual
  • Singer Buttonholer
  • Box of Singer attachments such as the Ruffler and Gather
  • Various other bits such as bobbins, felt pads, bobbin winder tyres etc
  • Finally, I was going to mention the first lot of sewing I did the other night! After I saw the Sewing Machine Man in the market, I bought some needles and thread from him:

    My first needles and threads

    Good quality Schmetz needles and some Coats thread. I also bought my first piece of fabric Β£2 for one metre from the market:

    My first fabric purchase

    (Now I’m going to have to figure out where I’m going to put my fabric stash…)

    I managed to thread up my machine all by myself, which made me very proud and started to sew. I was getting a beautiful stitch on the top:

    My first ever sewing!

    But then I turned it over and underneath I saw:

    My first ever sewing!

    THREAD BARF!

    I guessed that this was probably a tension issue… tweaked it a bit and carried on. Voila!

    My first ever sewing!

    This made me feel like some sort of genius, I can tell you πŸ™‚

    I then tried using some of the other feet and different length stitches on a piece of fabric:

    Second sewing

    I may also have bought another machine today – this one for Trev! Watch this space, as they say πŸ™‚

    One thought on “Refurbishment Complete!

    I'd love to hear your thoughts!

    