life

Nervy


Little bit nervous tonight for reasons I’ll come on to, but just wanted to say HI to everyone and promise that I will do an update from this weekend very soon – we went to visit Trev’s family and I got to go to Knit Nation – where I have to say I was very restrained.

I’m nervous because I’m off to see the doctor tomorrow. I’m going to speak to him to see if there would be any value in potentially starting a course of medication to help with my anxiety and depression. I’ve been very inspired by a number of posts I’ve read in recent months (round up of blogs will come) and it’s helped me face up to the fact that I can’t do it all on my own and I may need more than just sheer bloody-mindedness to get through what is proving a challenging time.

CBT was useful, but I’m told that I would probably benefit from a slightly different course of therapy, so there should definitely be some good in seeing if I can referred for that too.

The hubster has been great – really lovely and as helpful as he can – but I think it’s time to get some more help. Those who know me, will know how hard an admission this is to make – as I’m one of those people who has to do everything myself, struggles to let go of things and considers herself a massive failure if she fails at anything.

So I expect tomorrow will be tough. But hopefully it will also help me feel much better in the long run.

2 thoughts on “Nervy

  1. Big hugs from me – my daughter suffers from depression and reading your comments was like talking to her. Be brave a little intervention can go a very long way and it sounds like you have excellent support which is also important. – Use any of us whenever you need to.
    Knitful love

  2. If you ever need to talk drop me an email/pm whatnot. I have chronic depression and just recently started meds again after a 4-5 yr absence thereof in attempts at having children. It may take a bit to find the right medication balance, but believe me, it’s worth it.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

