knitting · spinning · travelling

Sneak Peek


I’m well aware that for a blog that’s meant to be mostly about knitting, there hasn’t been a whole lot of knitting taking place in recent weeks. I am miles behind on my self-imposed sock club, having neither finished my bonus pair or even started the June pair. And it’s now almost August.

So, time to set that right! Even when I haven’t been doing a lot of knitting recently, I have been *thinking* about knitting. Even though there’s been lots of spinning taking place, last weekend I went to Knit Nation – where as I’ve said previously, I was very restrained. Unfortunately I don’t have any picture of the event itself. The whole thing was a little overwhelming – so many knitters and so much yarn in one place! It was however, awesome!

There was so much beautiful yarn I saw there – particularly laceweight, which is what I’d gone shopping for. I wanted to pick one up special skein with which I could make something lovely. I visited many gorgeous stands, including Natural Dye Studio, Renaissance Yarns, Loop, the Yarn Yard, Skein Queen, Juno Fibre Arts, Sweet Clement and more! So so so much lovely stuff – unfortunately most of the yarns I wanted, contain alpaca – which made them a no-no for me. I love that there’s so much beautiful lace dyed in so many lovely colours but I wish there were a few more non-alpaca blends available.

Anyway. This meant that I ended up looking at lots of lovely mohair! I bought 2 skeins – one teeny skein from Habu, which is mohair/silk that I haven’t got a picture of yet. It’s half an ounce and 170m – so perfect for something small and lacy. I could have spent LOADS at the Habu stall. Definitely need to visit these guys again and stock up on some of the awesome blends that they have.

I also bought this skein of beautiful mohair/silk from Artisan Yarns:

Kid Mohair/Silk

They had beautiful kits – of 50g of mohair and a pattern for a scarf/cowl for only £10. I couldn’t resist. I can’t yet decide whether to do a long scarf or snuggly cowl – any thoughts?

The only picture I did take, were of the lovely Rock and Purl – here she can be seen playing sock puppets with Sinuous socks knitted by myself and Alisha Irish:

Ms Rockandpurl

Ms Rockandpurl

Also during the weekend as I said, I did lots of spinning. I managed to finish spinning up the second half of the camelbunny silk – which I’m now slowly plying. Here it is while still on the spindle:

Camelbunny Silk

We did quite a bit that weekend as we were staying with Trev’s family. On Friday, we wandered off to the Royal Albert Hall and listened to the Darius Brubeck Quartet in the Cafe Consort. Here’s some pics of us there.

Hubster

Moi

Trev and his dad:

Trev & his dad

Us outside the Royal Albert Hall:

Us outside the Albert Hall

The Hall and the Albert Monument:

The Royal Albert Hall

The Albert Monument

Afterwards, we ate at an amazing italian restaurant in Kensington called Da Marios. I had to take a picture of the table as it looked awesome:

Da Mario's Restaurant table

The place was nice and cosy:

Da Mario's Restaurant

But downstairs it was like some kind of tardis – with a huge basement with tons of seating. We went back on Saturday when Trev met up with his brother – I encourage you to check it out! They also had the most amazing orchid behind where we sat:

Gorgeous Orchid

Finally on our travels we say the cutest little street of houses – just the kind of place if I ever (could afford) to live in that part of London:

Cute Little Street in Kensington

On Sunday Trev and his dad played a bit of music:

Trev & Roy being all musical

On the way back on Monday we made a new acquaintance:

Pedro enjoying a scone

Pedro the Spanish Penguin – here he can be seen enjoying a scone with cream and jam on the train on the way back to Leeds. He came to live us with from the Natural History Museum and hopes to come and join us on his travels whenever we go anywhere.

So, what about the sneak peek of the title, I hear you ask? Well, today I have finally finished my Marina cardigan – complete with totally awesome seams! I’ll do a full post when I’ve bought buttons for it and taken proper photos – hence the current sneak peek:

Marina sneak peek

Marina sneak peek

We are taking a journey to Ilkley next weekend to visit Duttons for Buttons, which is where I’ll buy buttons and get it all finished up when we go for tea at Betty’s Tea Rooms!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

