life · sewing

One In, One Out


We were out furniture hunting on Saturday to look for a chest of drawers for the bedroom and our travels took me past some little babies in need of care.

The first place we went to was Retro Boutique – a very funky little place that has amazing furniture, vintage clothes and knick knacks – just the kind of place I love. They also had a fantastic little Frister & Rossman shuttle sewing machine that looks in desperate need of TLC. Now I don’t want a shuttle machine, as they need the bobbins changing frequently and it can be harder to get parts for them. But I’m tempted by this one as the decals are beautiful. I might get pics next time we go in.

But I was strong, I passed.

We then made our way to Poverty Aid, where in May we saw this machine (full blog post here):

Singer Sewing Machine 15k

A lovely little Singer 15 in a treadle cabinet. It has since been electrified, but doesn’t work, so they’ve stripped the motor off it so it can be used as a treadle again. They wanted ยฃ65 for it, which is more than I think it’s worth (even with the boatload of feet in the cupboard) and when I went back on Saturday the poor little thing was still there. Looking very dusty and unloved.

But still I was strong. We were hunting for furniture and I don’t have the room for a treadle machine and another cabinet now I have Grace.

Then, I rounded a corner. And I’m told I let out a squeal of excitement. First I saw the case:

Singer 99-13 Handcrank

It turned out to be this:

Singer 99-13 Handcrank

Look how shiny and cute and awesome. I found myself trying to find a way to make Trev let me take it home. It too was ยฃ65, but considering how old it undoubtedly was and the truly awesome condition it was in, I felt a lot better. Plus it came with lots of feet – which I know I’ve said before I don’t need, but always helps to sweeten the deal.

Trev being the lovely, wonderful hubster that he is, not only bought it but cradled it in the taxi on the way home. His mum once had a very similar machine to this, in the bentwood case, so wanted me to get it almost as much as I wanted me to get it.

Brought it home, gave it a quick wipe with some oil and looks amazing:

Singer 99-13 Handcrank

Singer 99-13 Handcrank

Singer 99-13 Handcrank

Singer 99-13 Handcrank

Singer 99-13 Handcrank

Singer 99-13 Handcrank

Amazingly, some of these feet are ones I didn’t already have – which is great – only two are ones I already owned. So wooo!

I love the condition of the decals and the metalwork. Did you see the faceplate above? You can see your face in it, it’s that shiny. That’s the same for most of the machine, actually.

The serial number is Y8093031 – which makes it a model 99 (I think a 99-13 specifically), made in Kilbowie in 1930 – commissioned on August 19th. So she’ll be 81 next week. How cool is that! She will also be named Odetta – after an American folk singer born in 1930.

She’s be thoroughly oiled and sews amazingly – Trev is super keen to learn on this one as electric machines scare him slightly and he loves how much control he has when turning it by hand. I love being able to maintain these machines myself – from cleaning to simple repairs, I want to learn to do it all myself.

Speaking of which. Upon announcing his desire to learn on the hand-crank, I decided to sell the Novum machine (info and pics here). It doesn’t really offer anything different to my other machines and if I’m being shallow, isn’t as pretty! Perfect timing, as my mother in law then offered to buy it from me, to teach Britney to sew! So when they came to visit at the weekend, it got packed off with them in the car to take back.

So for a brief period we were up to four machines, but now back down to three. Determined not to buy any more unless they are fantastical awesome specimens that I just can’t resist. Like Odetta.

Of course I can’t blog without mentioning the events taking place in the UK at the moment. I know a number of people affected – there was a shooting in Leeds only two miles from my house last night and I have to go to Salford for work tomorrow where there are currently riots taking place. Needless to say I join others in finding these events absolutely deplorable. Instead I’m trying to find some solace in the pictures of people coming together to clean up streets, or serving tea to the police on riot shields.

I saw a great quote today essentially said that there aren’t more bad people than good people – the good just take a little longer to get organised. Let’s hope that the people who are trashing their communities (while there may be political reasons involved here, let’s face it, this is just people kicking off because they *can*), can instead put that energy to better use and instead build up the areas into something to be proud of – rather than expecting to have life and a nice place to live handed to them on a plate. Things like this are going to put people off investing in areas and creating jobs – exacerbating the very issues that they are allegedly rioting over.

Anyway – this isn’t a political blog and I don’t want it to turn into such. My thoughts are just with those affected and I hope we see the end of things very soon.

2 thoughts on “One In, One Out

  1. Odetta is gorgeous! What an absolute wonderful find. You are certainly inspiring me to pull my sewing machine out and play with it a bit. I would have to get it back from my mum, as I loaned it to her some months back so she could sew some curtains…

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

