kooky · life · shop

Thoughts on the shop


So when I kicked off this blog in its new incarnation I went all-out and put together a little Etsy shop where I was going to sell handspun and handknits etc. For one reason or another, things haven’t really worked out as planned. Work, time and other things have conspired against me to leave the shop almost always empty.

Also, the Kooky Kat after whom this blog and the shop are named is very very poorly. She has a massive tumour on her mammary gland (kitty breast cancer) and while we haven’t opted for surgery in the hope of not leaving her in massive pain towards the end of her life (plus chances of success not great) – she doesn’t have long left.

For now, I have closed the Etsy store temporarily and will update content on the blog to reflect the lack of store. I will debate whether to close it permanently and also consider changing the name of the blog – if the store and the whole initial ethos behind this blog isn’t in place, it probably makes sense to change it.

It won’t stop me selling anything – I’ll be able to put items up on here for sale if I ever have anything finished that I think others might be interested in. It may also make it a little easier to expand the scope of the blog a little – although the focus will still be predominantly on crafting etc.

I guess mostly I’m chickening out – once Kooky is no longer with us I don’t want to see reminders of her every day – so will give it some thought and decide what to do.

In the meantime we are very glad to have whatever time is left with she-of-the-giant-paws:

CIMG2211

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on the shop

  1. I’m so sorry to hear that Kooky is ill. I do hope that if she doesn’t get better that she will at least be pain free for the remaining time she is with you.

    She’s a sweet cranky lass and I for one have enjoyed your tales of her antics for quite some time.

    1. Thank you Cheryl! No chance of her getting better unfortunately – and we’re simultaneously sad that we’ve only had her for three years, but also glad that she’s made it to the grand old age of 14 and given us the time we have had. Fingers crossed we have her for a little while longer yet.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

