spinning

Winding


Today has been a very productive day on the spinning front – for the first time in ages!

I started spinning this Optim back in September:

Copperhead Optim - WIP

I was making swift progress and then this happened – do you remember:

Broken!

New spindle arrived and I got the first 50g finished. It took me ages to start the second half which I did the other week, but I hadn’t made much progress. Not sure why I decided to start spinning today but after a couple hours of making, frankly, excellent progress, I ended up with this:

Copperhead Optim - WIP

That’s the first 50g wound into a ball on the left and the second lot on the spindle on the right ready to be wound off.

Winding a good ball ready for plying can be quite tough on your hands – winding the ball so that all of the strands are tight and nothing is loose. I’ve just finished winding the second half into a ball just now and my hand aches! But in the end you end up with something like this:

Copperhead Optim - WIP

The next step will be to wind both balls into a single larger one, with the two strands together – ready for plying on a larger spindle. I always ply this way – I love dividing the yarn management and plying stages into separate steps – makes plying much simpler and stress-free!

Fingers crossed I’ll get the final ball wound in the next couple of days and then plied! Will be nice to finally have another spinning FO. Got SO much fibre that needs to be spun up – it’s a little overwhelming to look at.

But baby steps, right?

6 thoughts on “Winding

    1. Thank you! Likewise on your sock club fibre (I find myself drooling over the Hansen Minispinners again)

      Can’t wait to get this done and see what it wants to become… may attempt to wind the double stranded ball tonight 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

