knitting

A Tale of Two Cowls


No prizes for guessing what this post will be about ๐Ÿ™‚

I have a bad habit of knitting items that are completely inappropriate for the season I’m in. Last year in May I knitted a hooded scarf out of Rowan Cocoon. So this year, to give myself a break from all the stuff I’m working on which is all pretty much sock weight yarn, I thought it might be nice to knit a couple of things from bulky yarn.

First up, is the Cowl of Sheepy Goodness.

The Cowl of Sheepy Goodness

This loosely based on the GAP-tastic Cowl pattern and I was inspired to knit it by seeing a friend’s actual GAP cowl which looked very warm and snuggly.

I bought three balls of Rowan Purelife Sheepbreeds Chunky in this lovely natural BFL shade – which has the most awesome sheepy smell. I ended up only using two balls as I thought it would block to be wide enough – unfortunately it’s not quite worked out that way.

Annoyingly, the two balls have resulted in a cowl that weighs only 189g – not 200g – bit annoying to pay ยฃ8 a ball for yarn that turns out to be underweight – shame on you Rowan! I’m also not too happy with it generally as an FO. I wish I used a smaller needle as I’m not a fan of the overall gauge and handle of the FO. I do also wish I’d used more yarn to make it a bit wider.

When doubled up though it’s nice and warm:

The Cowl of Sheepy Goodness

Just strange as I thought it’s one that would work quite well on me, but I honestly don’t think it suits me too much. Very odd. Need to decide what to do with it. Would anyone be interested in a trade for some yarn?

Anyhoooo – next up is my Happy Solitude Cowl:

Happy Grey Solitude Cowl

I love this project – it’s a Veera Valimaki (she of Stripe Study and Colour Affection fame) pattern – the first of hers that I’ve knitted and hopefully not the last. It’s a super deep and snuggly cowl and with the buttons it’s quite versatile.

Just a word on the buttons before we go further. I’ve used some awesome Injabulo buttons which I think work perfectly. As usual, I was paralysed with indecision when it came to picking them, so many thanks to the lovely Gwen at Baa Ram Ewe who selected them for me.

Happy Grey Solitude Cowl

They also help make the project quite unisex, I think – which is just as well as I had to get Trev to pose for most of the pictures so I could get the shots I want ๐Ÿ™‚

Let’s start off with a moody shot:

Happy Grey Solitude Cowl

Some more pics:

Happy Grey Solitude Cowl

Happy Grey Solitude Cowl

Happy Grey Solitude Cowl

Happy Grey Solitude Cowl

It’s a lovely chunky cabled pattern that’s fully reversible. I did make mine a teeny bit longer – a length of 23″ instead of 19″ before doing the end rows of garter stitch. This meant I did an additional 2 repeats of the short rows and another 8 rows in pattern to make up the extra length.

Happy Grey Solitude Cowl

It can be a bit of a challenging pattern to keep track of – as the short rows mean you’re often working different pattern rows on each cabled section. Here are my notes from Rav on how to keep track:

To keep track as I knitted, I kept a piece of paper by me on which I drew three columns and each column referred to one of the cables.

Once you start to do the short rows, it can be quite hard to keep track without writing it down. My columns looked a bit like this:

29 5 29
30 6 30
31 7 31
32 8 32

When doing the short rows, after Iโ€™ve done one side and have made my way to the other side, it would be like this:

^ ^ 25
^ ^ 26

to:

^ ^ 25
^ ^ 26
^ 3 27

to:

25 ^ 25
^ ^ 26
^ 3 27

Moving to:

25 ^ 25
26 ^ 26
27 3 27
28 4 28

by the end of the short row repeat.

I hope that makes sense! As you start to do it, I promise it works out – just make sure you have pen and paper handy to keep track.

So very pleased with this one – just not so much with the other, which is disappointing. I love the way I can properly snuggle inside this big grey one and almost disappear inside it if I like. Going to be great for winter. The pics don’t really show the colour properly – it’s actually a very dark grey – not the light grey-brown it looks like.

But really nice to finish something – feels like ages since I last did and this is meant to be a blog about knitting after all!

One thought on “A Tale of Two Cowls

  1. Pingback: Lopi « Azzy Makes

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

