sewing

Two Times Treadles


A few posts ago I mentioned that I’d made a couple of acquisitions that I needed to blog about. So without further ado, let’s go!

We went out to breakfast during the Jubilee weekend to one of our favourite places. A couple of doors down is quite a nice little antique sort of shop called Retro Boutique. We often go in there to have a browse at the vinyl, or random bits of furniture. Once I’ve seen an old Frister & Rossman hand-crank machine in there, in not great shape but this time when I came in and walked up the stairs, we saw this:

Singer Model 12

A gorgeous little Singer – a sort I’d never seen before in a lovely little treadle table complete with lid.

Singer Model 12

Here’s a close-up:

Singer Model 12

And what I assumed to be the serial number:

Singer Model 12

I had no idea what this machine was – I just knew it was so cute and dinky that with it being on sale at half price I had to have it!

So awesome! A nice machine in good condition – yay! It then got even better as we walked around the upstairs and came across this:

Singer 27

Singer 27

What looked like a Singer 27/127 (wasn’t sure how you tell the difference) with Sphinx decals in the most fabulous treadle table with coffin box lid. Hadn’t seen many tables like this – with 7 drawers (six quite ornate with little handles) and just lovely. This was unfortunately not half price and a little expensive, but I SO wanted it for the table.

So despite having no room whatsoever for a treadle, I ended up buying both. They got delivered the next day so I was able to take some better pictures.

The first machine turned out to be a Singer Model 12 – one of the first production models Singer made. I was able to date it using the weird serial numbers – apparently you use the top number, which put this baby at being born in 1889. Scary old!

Singer Model 12

Singer Model 12

Singer Model 12

The treadle is apparently original, although the top has probably been refinished.

Singer Model 12

Singer Model 12

Singer Model 12

Singer Model 12

Singer Model 12

Singer Model 12

The decals as you can see are not in terrible shape. The plan for the 12 is to do it up a bit, get it sewing and sell it on – as this is a machine that it can be hard to get spares for and so more of a collector’s item. I really don’t have room for a machine, however pretty that’s just going to sit there.

The only barrier to my being able to get it working is a supremely busted gear underneath:

Singer 12 Damage

Thankfully I have another machine that I’m sourcing for parts so it should all come good in the end 🙂

Now on to the second machine – where I’d decided that I’d keep the table and use it as my primary sewing table and find a new home for the machine. The placement of the bobbin winder means it’s a 27, not a 127 where the winder sits higher up and the serial number tells me it was born in 1898. And what a table it is:

Singer 27

Singer 27

Singer 27

It’s a shame the machine decals aren’t better, but they’re still pretty good in places:

Singer 27

Singer 27

Singer 27

Lots of work needed to get this table top into a better state, but we’re well prepared for that! Sphinxy came with about six bobbins and the shuttle is intact, so there should be no problem getting it working and finding it a new home.

Lots more updates to come on both machines/tables as they are restored and put to use.

3 thoughts on “Two Times Treadles

  1. My mom has one just like the second one with the pretty drawers. Pinched my fingers in the wheel many a time when growing up. I’ll have to find out what year it was made. I think it was my great grandmother’s.

    1. That would probably make sense age wise… most of the ornate ones seem to be at least 90+ years old which would make sense. Does your mum still have it?

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

