knitting

Hmmm


Knitted on borders. Do love them or loathe them?

I ask as I’m doing one at the moment. In October I was brought some lovely yarn by Trev as an anniversary present with which I planned to knit a Celes – 4 skeins of yummy Shilasdair Luxury 4 Ply in a beautiful natural fleecy colour. It has the most awesome comforting smell and I just want to wrap myself in it and roll around.

Anyway. So I got the centre rectangles knitted up and grafted together quite quickly and I remember picking up the 530-odd stitches around the border in the middle of the night one time when I had tonsilitis and couldn’t sleep. I thought I might as well get up and do something useful, so off I went. Easy.

I then knitted three repeats of the edging chart and didn’t do anything from late November until now. I suck.

So I’ve cracked back on with it, merrily counting down the 40-50 repeats I thought I’d need to do, when it suddenly hit me. I’m only joining the border to the shawl every other row, so in essence I have to knit over 1,000 border rows. That’s not 40-50 repeats. It’s closer to 100.

Guess how much I’ve done so far?

Celes Border In Progress

That’s not even a sixth! Not even half-way up the first long edge. So while I’m kind-of finding it meditative and enjoyable, it’s going to take a HECK of a long time and if I think about it too much, I may end up poking my eyes out with my needles.

Shame as I love the effect and I know it’s going to block out beautifully. But… the end seems so far away!

Any words of comfort? Or feel free to laugh at my but-it’s-oh-so-pretty-I’m-sure-the-border-will-be-really-quick-and-easy-and-fun naivety…

Back to the grindstone!

3 thoughts on “Hmmm

  1. No! Tell me it’s a breeze to knit and every moment is pure joy because I have it queued and have some beautiful yarn for it too. Sending you happy thoughts for easy progress. It certainly looks as though it will be exquisite when it’s finished.

  2. I do think it’s lovely. The thing I always keep in mind when there is a knitted/crochet border on projects such as these, is that the center pieces are just half of the project. The other half is the border.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

