knitting

Mitt Monday


It’s Monday and I have a post ready! Woo!

Today, as you might have guessed from the title, I’m going to be showing you a pair of mitts.

It started with a skein of yarn:

Prism Yarns Symphony - Antique

A lovely, 2oz (50g-odd) skein of yarn in a DK/worsted weight. But it’s all I had. So what do you make with it? Obviously fingerless mitts!

Took a while to scour Ravelry for a pattern. I didn’t want something plain, although perhaps with the nature of the yarn it would have worked well. In the end, I decided to make the Alisha Mitts, but to omit the buttons.

Here’s the results!

Alisha Mitts

Alisha Mitts

BTW, I LOVE the new mug I’m showing off in the photos. You’ve seen the CATFFEINATED side and here’s the DECATF:

Alisha Mitts

As a non-coffee drinker, I’ll have to take it to work and use it when I drink Red Bull or something.

Here are my Ravelry notes:

  • 3.75mm needle for ribbing.
  • 4.0mm needle for rest of glove.
  • As I may potentially be a little low on yarn, I’m looking at ways I can eke it out to ensure I don’t run out.
  • 10 rounds of ribbing, rather than 12.
  • Picked up 3 sts around the thumb and did 5 rows of 1×1 ribbing.
  • Mitts in total weigh 45g, so I could have done the extra two rows of initial ribbing and maybe an extra repeat.
  • If I do these again to fit me, I’d probably add an extra couple of stitches across the palm section and an extra repeat or so before starting the gusset.

Here’s a close-up:

Alisha Mitts

The two mitts together:

Alisha Mitts

Of course, I ended up with loads of yarn left so could easily have gone up a needle size, or added extra ribbing, or just generally used more in one way or another. But you live and learn. I think having loads left over is preferable to running out and having to rip back.

Hopefully the recipient will like them! πŸ™‚

One thought on “Mitt Monday

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

