home · sewing

A Rethink


I know that not too long ago I shared pictures of my craft room since we've moved into the new house. Since then, we've actually taken the decision to change things up a bit. Our original plan was for me to have the small room, while Trev set up studio space in the larger guest room that would have to be shared with a guest bed.

We thought about it and we don't really want to have each of us working away in separate rooms – particularly when we don't know how frequently we'll have guests. It's not a case of “build it and they will come”. So with that in mind it seems a shame to waste all that space for people who may not come after all.

As a result I have now relocated all my stuff into the big room, with one big addition (can you spot it?)

Have you spotted the addition? (And I'm not talking about my new set of drawers which I love lots!)

This is my shiny new cutting table/storage/work station! It's not yet completely finished as we need to join the two tabletops together and fasten them to the units underneath.

Here it is earlier covered with stuff:

We've cobbled it together out of three 2×2 white Expedits with two Linnmon tabletops. In total those bits only cost us Β£74 so it's quite a bargain! I am a little envious of all of those people who've topped their cutting tables with beautiful wooden work tops – but I didn't fancy the expense. Β£130 vs Β£14 – so maybe next time πŸ™‚

So now I have plenty of space for cutting out fabric, or winding yarn. Plus lots more storage for fabric and sewing supplies etc as my stash grows πŸ™‚

Speaking of sewing supplies, Trev bought me the loveliest gift box from a Merchant & Mills, which I have wanted for ages, that has lots of beautiful little bits and pieces in.

I've added a few bits to it this week as I needed to buy some shears etc, so I now have all I need to start sewing more.

I'm a little sad that I didn't do any sewing last week, but with attending Yarndale, having a day out for our wedding anniversary and my parents coming up on Saturday, it's funny how quickly time flies! Still, I hope to have lots of sewing-related updates soon πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “A Rethink

  1. Oh my! Why haven’t I ever thought of that! That’s an amazing idea for a work space! The storage addition is…I’m going to have to write this down.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

