knitting

Kelsey Mitts


Project Page

My third pair of mitts in the last few months! These are the Kelsey Mitts from Knitscene Fall 2012.

I wanted to knit a long-ish pair that would be great to wear as the weather continues to get colder. As I wear a lot of 3/4 length sleeves, I often get cold wrists and forearms so the plan is to try and keep them toasty!

I had 4 skeins of Lorna's Laces Shepherd Sport Solid in a lovely green colour to use. Each skein weighs about 70g so I wasn't expecting to be able to get both mitts out of a single skein, but there was plenty to use, just in case.

They began to knit up into a lovely squishy fabric! I used Norwegian Purling on the front side with the cables to try and keep everything nice and neat.

Random finished picture of the first mitt!

With these mitts, once you've finished the thumb gusset you carry on and finished the thumb, leaving the hand stitches on waste yarn – which is a contrast to how mitt patterns normally work, where you do the thumb right at the end.

On the second mitt, I knew it would be touch and go as to whether I was able to get to the end of the thumb with the skein of yarn I was using. I came close!

In the end I just managed it and only had to join the second skein to finish off the hand of the second. In total I used 81g of yarn – just over 40g per mitt which I'm pretty happy with.

Time for finished pictures! One of many lovely things about our new craft space is all of the white surfaces, which work nicely for picture taking.

The mitts feature a nice simple ribbed thumb and gusset.

The rest of the hand is nice simple, stretchy ribbing.

Looking forward to wearing these lots during autumn! Although that may not be it for mitts this year – depending on what time I have I may try and sneak one more pair in.

One thought on “Kelsey Mitts

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

